Sterling candidates certified

It’s official, two Mount Sterling residents will face off for the mayor’s seat this November.

The official list of certified candidates was released Monday morning, confirming Diane Spradlin and Dusty Parker vying for the seat.

Spradlin is currently a member of the village council, serving her second term. Often the lone voice of opposition on policies, she often speaks her mind on policies leading to debate on council.

Parker is currently president of Madison County CIC, the county’s community improvement corporation dedicated to economic development. He also was formerly the village administrator, serving right before Joe Johnson, who pleaded guilty to stealing from the village in February.

The two will face off Nov. 8 for the position, finishing off the two-year term which was originally held by Charlie Neff.

Neff resigned shortly after Johnson and was recently found guilty of theft in office, falsification and dereliction of duty. The seat was taken over by Lowell Anderson in February 2016, as he was president pro-tem of council at the time. Anderson never filled his vacant seat after ascending to mayor and can retake it next January.

Also on the ballot in November are four council seats. Candidates certified for the ballot are incumbent council member Rebecca Burns, local entrepreneur Becky Martin as well as residents Tom Ward and Tammy Vansickle.

Residents registered to vote and interested in being a write-in candidate must fill out a form from the Madison County board of elections with 10 signatures by other registered Mount Sterling voters by Monday, Aug. 28.

.neFileBlock {
margin-bottom: 20px;
.neFileBlock p {
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
.neFileBlock .neFile {
border-bottom: 1px dotted #aaa;
padding-bottom: 5px;
padding-top: 10px;
.neFileBlock .neCaption {
font-size: 85%;

Diane Spradlin Spradlin

Dusty Parker Parker
Write-ins have until Aug. 28

By Maximilian Kwiatkowski

Maximilian Kwiatkowski can be reached at 740-852-1616, ext. 1617, or on Twitter @msfkwiat.