BC-LT–Venezuela Undone-Empty Schools,ADVISORY, LT


Editors and News Directors:

As part of a series on how crime and economic chaos are tearing at the social fabric of Venezuela, we’ll examine how a parents group estimates that students miss about 40 percent of class time, while teachers regularly skip work to wait in food lines. At one school, so many students have fainted from hunger that administrators have told parents to keep their children home if they have no food.

TEXT:

VENEZUELA UNDONE-EMPTY SCHOOLS_- Maria Arias was excited to start her freshman year with 11 new notebooks. Nine months later, they remain mostly empty, as Venezuelan students miss 40 percent of class time. Hungry students, armed robberies and absent teachers are making experts fear a lost generation. By Hannah Dreier. A package of 1,600 words, photos, video is moving at 12:01 a.m. An abridged version will also move at 9:01 a.m. EDT (1401 GMT) Friday. Both stories will be available in English and Spanish.

PHOTOS:

— A photo package will move to PhotoStream by 12:01 a.m. EDT (0401 GMT) Friday. The numbers are: XAC301-XAC319. All images will be available on the AP Images site.

VIDEO:

— Video will be released on Media Port, VideoHub, AP Video-US and Online Video at 12:01 a.m. EDT (0401 GMT). Online video edits will be available in English and Spanish.

___

For access to AP Exchange and other technical issues, contact apcustomersupport@ap.org or call 877-836-9477. Outside the U.S., dial 212-621-7361.

The AP