madison-press.com

Voter information for the 2014 elections

By The Associated Press

1 months 23 days 11 hours ago |1 Views | | | Email | Print

Secretary of State Jon Husted has established uniform, early-voting hours for Ohio’s 88 counties for this year’s primary and general elections. Voters can cast absentee ballots early by mail or in person without giving any reason.


Secretary of State Jon Husted, a Republican, said his directive for voting times reflects a proposal from the bipartisan Ohio Association of Election Officials. He has pressed state lawmakers for the past three years to put the hours and days for early voting into law, but the GOP-controlled Legislature has not adopted any plan.


“I have watched as numerous election laws have passed the General Assembly and yet the bipartisan plan I have advocated for has neither been introduced nor adopted,” Husted said in a statement.


Lacking legislation, Husted said he used the blueprint hours from the Republicans and Democrats who run local elections in Ohio’s 88 counties.


Here is the schedule for in-person voting:


PRIMARY ELECTION, MAY 6:


• Tuesday, April 1, through Friday, April 4: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


• Monday, April 7 (last day of voter registration): 8 a.m. to 9 p.m.


• Tuesday, April 8, through Friday, April 11: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


• Monday, April 14, through Friday, May 2: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


• Saturday, May 3: 8 a.m. to noon.


GENERAL ELECTION, NOV. 4:


• Tuesday, Oct. 7, through Friday, Oct. 10: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


• Tuesday, Oct. 14, through Friday, Oct. 17: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


• Monday, Oct. 20 through Friday, Oct. 24: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


• Saturday, Oct. 25: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.


• Monday, Oct. 27, through Friday, Oct. 31: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.


• Saturday, Nov. 1: 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Comments

comments powered by Disqus

Weather

Sponsored By:

Local Gas Prices

Lowest Gas Prices in London
London Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com

Featured Business