West Jefferson Middle School presents awards

Staff report

The West Jefferson Memorial Middle School recently awarded top honors to students for the 2016-2017 school year.

The following students have had perfect attendance for the 2016-2017 school year: Tyler Buescher, Bella Harrison, Lauren Humphries, Nathan Peters and Gabriel Trein.

Sixth grade students were recognized for being the top 10 academically in their class: Jacob Fitzpatrick, Kayelee Harding, Ethan Hostetler, Autumn Lewis, Brooke Mannon, Jeffrey McClish, Molly Mikulin, Nathan Peters, Zander Stephens and Dominik Tsourkas.

Seventh graders being recognized for top honors were: Josephine Boucher, Maggie Bumgardner, Aiden Clerico, Graham Gardner, Emily Harvey, Lauren Humphries, Tennessee Jennings, Riley Marshall, Annabel Phipps, Canyon Schneider and McKayle Woodford.

Eighth graders receiving top presidential outstanding honors were: Adam Hitzeman, Emma Hostetler, Harley Johnson, Mallory Justus, Bryce Keckley, Megan McClish, Wesley Miller, Vanessa Peshko, Anya Piazza, Kyle Scott. Most Improved Presidential Award: Samantha Chaffin, Matthew Chriszt, Taylor Fry, Thomas Fuller, Emily Harper, Adrien Hymiller, Korbin Keith, Alaina Looby, Isabel Swindall and Nicholas West.

The Archie Griffin Sportsmanship Award is designed to promote sportsmanship, ethics, and integrity. This year the awards were presented to: Reagan Stickel and Tyler Oberle.

The Carol Bichler and Don Schiff awards are given to an outstanding eighth grade male and female athlete. These students have above average athletic ability, participate in multiple sports, show leadership on and off of the playing field or court, as well as exhibit a good attitude. This year’s award recipients are: Megan McClish and Dylan Lambert.

Addison Branham has received the Rae LeCompte Sprit Award for demonstrating outstanding school spirit.

The Principal’s Award is given to an eighth grade student who has demonstrated the most improvement as an all around student during their middle school years including social, emotional, and academic development. This year’s recipient was Thomas Kuebler.

This year’s nominations for the Leon Garrett award are: Addison Branham, Emma Hostetler, Mallory Justus, Bryce Keckley, Gabriella King, Megan McClish, Wesley Miller, Vanessa Peshko, Nash Parsons and Anya Piazza. The recipient has demonstrated an above average grade-point average, outstanding leadership, as well as involvement in community act ivies. This year’s award went to: Megan McClish.

Staff report